Your Basket

Your your basket is currently empty

Taxes and shipping calculated at checkout Checkout
Kit Guide

Wilson Trophy preview.

By George Yeoman 30th September 2020
This weekend is the UK Open Team Racing Championships a.k.a. The Wilson Trophy. For anyone who doesn't know, it doesn't get much more exciting than team racing. The races are 10 minutes each, 3 boats on each team racing to make sure their point add up to less than the opposition! Very fast, lots of shouting and some great opportunities for showing off your boat handling. This year Sophie and I are sailing for Team Itchenor, and it is effectively the helms who won the Youth Team Racing Champs twice plus some new crews. Sophie and I are sailing together with Andy Shaw & Pippa Horne and Rob Struckett & Ellie Assinder. We have had a pretty mixed season this season, however we are getting to grips with it and won the last Invitational event we went to. Andy and I sailed together at the ISAF Team Racing Worlds and also on BUSA tour so have done a lot together. Rob has been over in the US at Yale so is getting back into it, and is doing so quickly and won boat of the event at our last event. However there are a lot of good teams going up to West Kirby for the event. Ben Saxton, Owain Matthews and Tom Mallindine are sailing for Grafham and are all pretty handy. Stu Bithell and Luke Patience have teamed up with Christian Birrell to have a go as well and could be dangerous. The great thing about team racing is that you don't always have to be the fastest boat on the water (although it helps) and there are teams who have just got their moves down. The West Kirby Hawks are current world champs, Spinnaker are current nationals champs, Wessex and Royal Thames are also very good on their day. That's just the UK teams, with teams from Ireland and the States coming as well its going to be a great weekend of sailing. If you want to keep up with whats going on there is normally a live results table and daily videos at: Cheers, G & S

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.